Community representatives on the Ward Alliances.

1. Purpose of Report

The report seeks formal approval for the appointment of a number of community representatives to the Dearne North and Dearne South Ward Alliances.

2. **RECOMMENDATION**

It is recommended that:-

- 2.1 Dearne Area Council approves the appointment of the community representatives named below to each of the Dearne North and Dearne South Ward Alliances, for the municipal year 2014/15.
- 2.2 Ward Alliances are encouraged to review their membership towards the end of 2014, with a view to recommending individuals to act as community representatives for the 2015/16 municipal year.

3. Background

A report setting out changes to the Council's Governance arrangements was submitted to Cabinet on 10th October 2012 and was subsequently recommended to Full Council on 8th November, where it received approval. This established revised arrangements which included the creation of six Area Councils, supported by Ward Alliances.

A further report providing detail, including the Area Governance Handbook and Terms of Reference for the Area Councils, was submitted to Cabinet on 8th May, 2013. In approving the recommendations in the report, Cabinet agreed that Area Councils would formally approve the community representatives on the Ward Alliances. This report is submitted on that basis.

4. Proposal

That the Area Council considers the individuals below with a view to them being formally approved as community representatives on the following Ward Alliances for the municipal year 2014/15:-

Dearne North

Andrew Hainey Sandra Pennington Charlotte Williams Teresa Sim

An application has been received from Mr Paul Haines and is currently awaiting consideration by Dearne North Members.

Dearne South

Alan George Maxine Grainger Pete Finnegan Andy Cole Angie Kelly Ian Chappel Graham Jarvis Bobbi Perry Terry Walton

As the term for these representatives will come to an end at the end of the municipal year, it is suggested the Ward Alliance review their membership at towards the end of 2014 with a view to recommending individuals to act as community representatives for the 2015/16 municipal year.

Officer Contacts: Peter Mirfin Tel: (01226) 773147

Marie Sinclair Tel: (01226) 774469

11th July, 2014